9th Annual Excellence in Education Celebration

On Wednesday, June 17, 2015 the Chamber of Commerce of Harrison County and the Harrison County Community Foundation hosted their Ninth Annual Excellence in Education Celebration. The celebration, held at Lincoln Hills Christian Church and catered by Bills Catering, honored five Harrison County educators and twenty scholarship recipients.

Lisa Long, President of the Chamber of Commerce said, "It is always an honor to recognize those students that have worked so hard during their educational career and the educators that dedicate their lives to the education and enrichment of our County's youth." Since May of 1989, the Chamber of Commerce of Harrison County has awarded $71,000 in scholarship funds to graduating Harrison County students.

This year the Chamber awarded four $1,000 scholarships, one in each of the Harrison County School Districts. The scholarship recipients were Drake Mattingly (Corydon Central High School, "The J. Gordon Pendleton/Earl Book Scholarship"); Annabelle Parsons (Lanesville High School); Madeline Rathgeber (North Harrison High School, "The Charles and Rae Davis Walk Scholarship"); and Haley Shaffer (South Central High School).

In addition, the Chamber awarded four Educator of the Year awards and one Administrator of the Year Award. Long believes it is equally important to recognize those educators, nominated by their students, colleagues and family members, for their excellence in teaching. The Chamber presented each of the five recipients with $500 to utilize, as they choose, in their classrooms or departments and a beautifully handcrafted and engraved Zimmerman Art Glass apple to commemorate the award.

The 2015 Administrator of the Year award was presented to Nissa Ellett (Principal, Heth-Washington Elementary School) in recognition of her nationally recognized "Shoes for Students" campaign and her work to elevate Heth-Washington Elementary to an A rated school. The 2015 Educators of the Year were Holly Lindemann, Heth-Washington Elementary School (Corydon Central School District); Aaron Guernsey, Lanesville k-12 music instructor (Lanesville Community School District); Angela Rose Martin, Morgan Elementary School (North Harrison Community School District); and Susan C. Eastridge, South Central Elementary (South Central School District).

This year, HCCF awarded over a half a million dollars to the Class of 2015. This amount includes 16 renewable scholarships worth $20,000 as well as our Founder's Vocational Scholarships which focus on students studying in a vocational specific field. In total, over 90 students in Harrison County received at least one scholarship from the foundation.